Wings

I cannot bear the pain today

I cannot bear this pain.
I no longer feel sane;
blood that flows through my hand.
Nobody seems to understand
this feathered fate that lifts me
into the air for all to see.

The words I say will crumble.
My life (from the sky) will tumble.
I cry inside my hate,
for it must certainly be too late.
“I can never be saved”
– these words my life has engraved.

The condition of my soul will taint;
such an ugly picture I paint.
Hope has been lost to me.
Eras of time won’t set me free
from the poison of my mind.
Desperation has made me blind.

Deep inside I feel such shame.
Upon myself I place the blame.
Death and life hang together
on the weight of a single feather.
My thoughts rage in pain
and I write to nothing in vain.

Shadows cloak me as the night;
black and grief with fear to fight.
Tears come and cloud my eyes.
My heart inside wilts and dies.
Without a friend I sigh and groan
knowing I will forever be alone.

Few know the pain of rape.
From your mind there’s no escape.
I let my body truly be
and speak that I may feel free.
I cannot bear the pain today,
so let these fragile wings take me away.

~Sunshine Hauck

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

(Original image by yuumei of deviantart)

http://yuumei.deviantart.com/art/Sky-Turtle-428964840

Leave a Reply

